The War to Begin All Wars??

I’m in the middle of watching an insightful special on the Military Channel called “Paris 1919” which covers the politics and scheming of post World War I and how a few decide how most will live going forward into this new world order. It’s very interesting how the politicians are carving up the world to assign smaller nations to bigger nations and deciding how Germany will be punished.

I’m still in the beginning stages of “The Pacific War” by William B. Hopkins. This book starts of with the political environment leading up to World War II so both this special and the book seem to overlap. It never ceases to amaze me how when resolving one conflict people seem to set in motion the foundation for future conflicts. I think they actually believe they are establishing a foundation for peace. Of course, hindsight is 20/20 and not having the gift of ESP, I’m sure they truly believe their resolutions will help end all future conflicts.

This got me started thinking about working through earlier wars to see just how far into the future they impact today’s military operations. And so a new idea is born…

Starting January 1, 2012, I’m launching my own personal project. Each quarter, I’ll focus on one war and read as many books as I can on that war (I’ll still mix in some other genres just to add some diversity – I’m sure the Ayn Rand books I bought 4 years ago will thank me). The next quarter, I’ll move onto the next chronological war and so on.

So let me know what you think – which war should be my beginning?

About jenvolk5

Bank auditor by day, trivia and knowledge hound all other times.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The War to Begin All Wars??

  1. David Navarre says:

    I think I’d want to start with the Crimean War. With the Charge of the Light Brigade, Florence Nightingale, the dawn of trench warfare, reportage via telegraph, the establishment of the Victoria Cross and the impetus for the end of Russian serfdom, I think it provides a lot of background from what happens in the 20th century and is woefully unknown. I have to admit to needing to check the Wikipedia article to know whether it preceded the Franco-Prussian War, which is, itself, obscure. I can’t say I’ve read a book on either, though I do have two shelves on Gettysburg and 3 on the rest of our Civil War….

Leave a Reply

