Factual Friday

First off, let me apologize for missing the last several Fridays. I was terribly sick and running a raging fever so I didn’t think it wise to post anything lest it be more of a rambling and less factual! But I’m healthy now and so Factual Fridays resume!

This week, I’d like to do more of an update. I’m still reading “The History of Warfare” by John Keegan. I also picked up a book recently called “The Secret Holocaust Diaries – the Untold Story of Nonna Bannister”. Oddly enough, both books mention heavily the Cossacks of the Ukraine and Russia which I thought was a remarkable coincidence.

I picked up a couple of other books awhile back that I thought looked interesting. “Fighting Techniques of the Medieval World – AD 500-1500”. There is a whole series of these books not just by time period but also by geography (i.e. Oriental World). Has anyone read these books? Any feedback?

I’ll be back next Friday with a fresh installment of Factual Fridays. Until then, happy reading!

About jenvolk5

Bank auditor by day, trivia and knowledge hound all other times.
This entry was posted in Factual Fridays and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Factual Friday

  1. I got most of the way through Keegan’s “Face of Battle”. The level of detail was sometimes overwhelming. On the other hand, “The First World War” was a far quicker read.

  2. jenvolk5 says:

    I’m having the same issue with “The History of Warfare”. I find I have to take frequent breaks. I have “The Face of Battle” so I’m glad you said something as I was going to read that next. I’ll just push that back a bit!

Leave a Reply

