Factual Friday

Declaration of Independence

Welcome to Factual Friday! My sincerest apologies for missing the last two weeks. First, the administrative stuff: there won’t be a Factual Friday post July 26th and there will be two Fridays in August that won’t have a post either. This is due to my crazy work schedule.

Since yesterday was the 237th anniversary of the American colonies declaring their independence from Great Britain, I thought I would focus on key July anniversaries of the Revolutionary War.

July 4, 1776: Colonies declare their independence from Great Britain (the last signature on the document wasn’t until August 2nd).

July 5, 1777: St. Clair surrenders at Fort Ticonderoga. This siege lasted just 4 days. The British had  7,000 troops and 800 Native Americans and Canadians to the U.S. strength of 3,000. Total killed for both was 12 and 11 wounded. (Pictured below is Fort Ticonderoga today)

 

Ft Ticonderoga

 

July 4, 1778: George Rogers Clark captures Kaskaskia, a French village in what is now Illinois.

Kaskaskia

July 8, 1779: British burn Fairfield, Connecticut and on July 11th, they burn Norwalk, Connecticut.

Fairfield CT

We all know how this turned out: Treaty of Paris brokering peace was signed in September 1783 and the U.S. Constitution was finally ratified in September 1787. The rest, they say, is history.

What are some of your favorite Revolutionary War battles to study?

Happy Friday!

About jenvolk5

Bank auditor by day, trivia and knowledge hound all other times.
This entry was posted in Factual Fridays and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Factual Friday

  1. Ben says:

    Looking at the picture of Ticonderoga gets me thinking…
    The design of those old forts is so interesting to see. I wonder if there is a book out there that explains the methodology behind the wall angles, etc. Some of it seems to be common sense for purposes of defense, but I bet there’s a lot to it.

    To answer your question, I find the Battle of Cowpens to be very interesting. I don’t know as much about it as I would like to, however, so this gets me thinking that I should look into it this weekend.

    Great post! Take care.

    -Ben

    • jenvolk5 says:

      I like the designs of the forts myself. It first caught my attention while reading a book about the battle of Verdun. I’ll add forts to my list of future Factual Friday topics – thanks Ben!

Leave a Reply

