Update

140402mag-world-wars1_300x206

Just a quick update on books, Factual Fridays, and “The World Wars”:

I’ll be posting a review of “How Chance and Stupidity Have Changed History” by Erik Durschmied tomorrow. Currently, I’m reading two books:

“For Whom the Bell Tolls” by Ernest Hemingway. My friend Dale read this (you can read his review on his blog here) and my friend Jay and I decided to give it a go since neither of us had read it either. I’m wishing I started with Hemingway’s “Farewell to Arms” as reading the current selection seems to be incredibly slow going.

“The Class of 1846” by John C. Waugh. This book covers the West Point class of 1846 most of whom went on to play significant roles in the Civil War on both sides.

Factual Friday will be moving to the last Fridays of the month during the summer due to an increase in workload and intense travel schedule. This Friday will actually be a double dose – one covering tanks and one covering Memorial Day.

Finally, the History Channel is debuting “The World Wars” starting tonight at 9:00 p.m. EDT. Here is a link to their website to check out the preview (which focuses on WWII but supposedly the series covers both WWI and WWII)  – looks promising! Anyone planning on catching it?

About jenvolk5

Bank auditor by day, trivia and knowledge hound all other times.
This entry was posted in Other and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Update

  1. Dale says:

    “A Farewell to Arms” is the quicker read. I think if I had to pick, though, I would say that I liked “For Whom The Bell Tolls” better.

Leave a Reply

