Update

It’s been long over due but now that I’m passed this insane work push and fully entrenched in a new role at said work, I’m now able to dedicate significantly more time to this site. So I’ll be back and consistently posting, I promise!

Factual Fridays will be back this starting this Friday.

Starting in January, two new somewhat regular features will be introduced. The first is a project I have long wanted to undertake and that’s Project President. My current book rotation is to read a non-fiction, military history book and alternate with a fiction book (to avoid burnout). Now I’ll be adding a presidential biography into the mix and it will be reviewed in its own section: Project President. This will go in order of the presidency and the only exception will be Grover Cleveland – I’ll just read one covering his life instead of two (one before and one after Benjamin Harrison – I’ll read his before Benjamin Harrison).

The second is based on a project over at Bibliophilopolis called “Deal Me In” in which each blogger is encouraged to select a short story, tie it to a card in a standard deck of cards (so 52 in total) and each week, read the story tied to the card you drew. Most bloggers choose fictional short stories but I selected mine based on military history short stories. I’ll be publishing a list of the stories I’ve chosen in December and these will also be listed in their own section: Deal Me In 2015.

I will be posting this week reviews of “Rising Sun, Falling Skies” by Jeffrey R. Cox, “Damn Few: Making the Modern SEAL Warrior” by Rorke Denver, “The Bedford Boys” by Alex Kershaw, and “Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption” by Laura Hillenbrand. I may not have been able to post but reading is starting to catch up. 🙂

I hope you’ll continue to follow me on this journey and any suggestions for books on military history, presidential biographies, and Factual Friday topics is always welcome!

About jenvolk5

Bank auditor by day, trivia and knowledge hound all other times.
This entry was posted in Deal Me In 2015, Other, Project President. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Update

  1. Jay says:

    I recently found another blogger who made a list of presidential bios. http://www.semicolonblog.com/?page_id=22039 if you’re looking for ideas.

Leave a Reply

