Deal Me in 2015: Week 3

Card

Week 3 of Deal Me In 2015 had me drawing the two of hearts, the second consecutive week that I’ve drawn a heart card. I still haven’t drawn a spade or a club but still plenty of time! This leads me to “With a Burqa” in Flashes of War by Katey Schultz. Deal Me In is sponsored by Jay at Bibliophilopolis. You can find the general guidelines and my list for this year from this post.

This story is a whopping 1 page! And yet, I don’t think it’s even the shortest story in the book. It’s told from the point of view of a female resident of either Iraq or Afghanistan.

The woman, who is never named, talks about what she sees of her city and of her garden, which has a crater holding a dud of a missile dropped by the Air Force. The burqa only plays a small part at the beginning:

“With the burqa, it was like this: the world came at me in apparitions, every figure textured by the mesh filter in front of my eyes. In a city with so much death, it was easy to believe half of the people I saw were ghosts.”

I can’t say that this was my favorite story or that I even really liked it. It did make me look forward/hope that next week I can pull a card other than hearts. 🙂

About jenvolk5

Bank auditor by day, trivia and knowledge hound all other times.
This entry was posted in Deal Me In 2015 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Deal Me in 2015: Week 3

  1. Dale says:

    I’ve enjoyed my stories so far, but I’ve only drawn hearts, too.

    • jenvolk5 says:

      What are the chances?!! I liked the first two a lot but I think this one was beyond me!

      • Jay says:

        Deal Me In knows what it’s doing. There is likely some – as yet unknown – reason why it is dealing up hearts. I’m all diamonds and clubs so far (I drew my fourth card already,but haven’t read thestory yet)

  2. Jay says:

    Seems like only seeing the world via the “through a burqa” perspective would make for a much longer piece. Wonder what made the author keep it so short… Hmmm.

    • jenvolk5 says:

      I wondered that too and it’s not even the shortest one in the book…the one right before it is also a page and thing the shortest one is a one or two paragraphs…

  3. Pingback: Deal Me in 2015 – Week 3 Wrap Up | Bibliophilopolis

  4. tracybham says:

    I have yet to try a very short story… one or two pages. I don’t think I would like that length, but then I was blocked about reading short stories at all for a long time.

Leave a Reply

