Deal Me In 2015: Week 4

Card

This is the third week in a row I’ve drawn a hearts card (Ace of Hearts for this week) so once again, I’m reading a story from “Flashes of War” by Katey Schultz. I promise I shuffled the deck twice but fate must have other designs!

This week’s story is called “While the Rest of America’s at the Mall” – it’s definitely a short story, 3 paragraphs to be exact.

This is told from the point of view of a Navy SEAL while in Iraq. I had to read this story three times and I still don’t understand it. What I got out of it is that the SEAL is in the water, under fire, remembering his family, orders an air strike, and is then commended by his Lieutenant for a job well done. How does this tie to the story title?

“So corny it could be from the movies, and I wish this was, all of us busting drug convoys 50 klicks north of Kabul, while the rest of America’s at the mall.”

I have no idea how it ties – to quote anymore would mean I would just quote the whole story and I still would have no idea how it all ties together or what it means.

Has anyone else read this? Any ideas?

Here’s hoping next week I get a break from Schultz or at least draw a card that ties to a longer Schultz story šŸ™‚

About jenvolk5

Bank auditor by day, trivia and knowledge hound all other times.
This entry was posted in Deal Me In 2015 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Deal Me In 2015: Week 4

  1. Wong says:

    He could be drawing a comparison between what he is doing and what he believes the rest of America is doing and lacking interest in what his mission is. I will have to read this before trying to understand the comparison.

  2. Jay says:

    Fate is clearly trying to ease you into the DMI routine by dealing you up these micro-short stories. šŸ™‚

  3. I’ve drawn three spades in four weeks…
    To interpret without reading, maybe it refers to how ordinary the actions are; as ordinary as going to the mall for most people?

  4. Pingback: Deal Me In – Week 4 Wrap Up | Bibliophilopolis

Leave a Reply

